Night World

Like books? Talk about them here!

Night World

Postby Hopeflower » Thu Feb 18, 2010 9:53 pm

Night World is a series of ten novels written by Lisa Jane Smith [or just L.J.Smith]. The series takes place in a world similar to our own, where shapeshifters, witches, vampires, and werewolves live alongside humans without our knowledge. The Night World is made up of these supernatural races. There are two cardinal laws in the Night World, and the consequences for violating them are terrifying. One: Humans must never find out about the existence of the Night World. And two: Night People must not fall in love with humans. The novels Smith has written center around what happens when the laws get broken.

Each new book centers around a different protagonist [always a teenage girl]. The first six focus on the girls facing challenges involving love, the "soulmate principal" [in which it is suggested that every person has just one soulmate, and that when that person finds their soulmate, they instantly "know" them], and the laws of the Night World. In the seventh, however, although the "soulmate principal" is still present, the idea of an impending millennial apocalypse is introduced. The plot begins to focus on finding the four Wild Powers. According to an ancient prophecy, the four have the power to save the world or aid in its destruction.

Kind of a cliche plot, I know, but the books are well-written and I'd recommend them to any who like romance novels that have a good amount of conflict.
"Gotta have a little sadness once in a while so you know when the good times come."
"Talent is a pursued interest. In other words, anything that you're willing to practice, you can do." ~ Bob Ross

"The future is always uncertain and painful but it must be lived." ~ Unknown
User avatar
Posts: 18688
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 7:17 pm
Location: NY, USA

Return to General Books

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest